Coverart for item
The Resource And after the fire : a novel, Lauren Belfer

And after the fire : a novel, Lauren Belfer

Label
And after the fire : a novel
Title
And after the fire
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lauren Belfer
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "The New York Times-bestselling author of A Fierce Radiance and City of Light returns with a new powerful and passionate novel--inspired by historical events--about two women, one European and one American, and the mysterious choral masterpiece by Johann Sebastian Bach that changes both their lives. In the ruins of Germany in 1945, at the end of World War II, American soldier Henry Sachs takes a souvenir, an old music manuscript, from a seemingly deserted mansion and mistakenly kills the girl who tries to stop him. In America in 2010, Henry's niece, Susanna Kessler, struggles to rebuild her life after she experiences a devastating act of violence on the streets of New York City. When Henry dies soon after, she uncovers the long-hidden music manuscript. She becomes determined to discover what it is and to return it to its rightful owner, a journey that will challenge her preconceptions about herself and her family's history--and also offer her an opportunity to finally make peace with the past. In Berlin, Germany, in 1796, amid the city's glittering salons where aristocrats and commoners, Christians and Jews, mingle freely despite simmering anti-Semitism, Sara Itzig Levy, a renowned musician, conceals the manuscript of an anti-Jewish cantata by Johann Sebastian Bach, an unsettling gift to her from Bach's son, her teacher. This work and its disturbing message will haunt Sara and her family for generations to come. Interweaving the stories of Susanna and Sara, and their families, And After the Fire traverses over two hundred years of history, from the eighteenth century through the Holocaust and into today, seamlessly melding past and present, real and imagined. Lauren Belfer's deeply researched, evocative, and compelling narrative resonates with emotion and immediacy"--
  • "Fans of Possession and Sarah's Key will love this masterful new novel from Lauren Belfer, the New York Times bestselling, critically acclaimed author of City of Light and A Fierce Radiance. Tracing the journey of a long-lost Bach cantata, the story interweaves an atmospheric and authentic historical narrative with a gripping contemporary plot"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
TOH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Belfer, Lauren
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3552.E467
LC item number
A85 2016
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Germany
Label
And after the fire : a novel, Lauren Belfer
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062428547
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
B74975C3-2552-4E01-9A20-08D0153795AC
System control number
  • 2143746
  • (OCoLC)948577142
  • (OCoLC)ocn948577142
  • 2143746
Label
And after the fire : a novel, Lauren Belfer
Link
Publication
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062428547
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
B74975C3-2552-4E01-9A20-08D0153795AC
System control number
  • 2143746
  • (OCoLC)948577142
  • (OCoLC)ocn948577142
  • 2143746

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...