Coverart for item
The Resource Code name : Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy, Larry Loftis

Code name : Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy, Larry Loftis

Label
Code name : Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy
Title
Code name
Title remainder
Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy
Statement of responsibility
Larry Loftis
Title variation
Code name Lise, the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Reading like a thrilling spy novel and the most exciting sort of non-fiction--well researched, well written, and fast paced enough to keep the pages turning--this will interest fans of the history of espionage, World War II history, military history, women's history, and biography."--Library Journal (starred review) Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019--Woman's Day From internationally bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love--of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade)
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Loftis, Larry
Dewey number
940.54/8641092
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
D810.S8
LC item number
O33 2019ab
Literary text for sound recordings
  • biography
  • history
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Kate Reading
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Reading, Kate
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Odette
  • Odette
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Spies
  • Women spies
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • HISTORY / Military / World War II
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
  • TRUE CRIME / Espionage
  • Secret service
  • Spies
  • Underground movements, War
  • Women spies
  • France
  • Great Britain
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Code name : Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy, Larry Loftis
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 5 min., 42 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508278900
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
1DD7EBC7-3CF6-4789-841C-A0A6B1B5065B
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1082518247
  • on1082518247
  • 3139157
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Code name : Lise : the true story of the woman who became WWII's most highly decorated spy, Larry Loftis
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 5 min., 42 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508278900
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
1DD7EBC7-3CF6-4789-841C-A0A6B1B5065B
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1082518247
  • on1082518247
  • 3139157
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...