Coverart for item
The Resource Flight path : a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport, by Hannah Palmer

Flight path : a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport, by Hannah Palmer

Label
Flight path : a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport
Title
Flight path
Title remainder
a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport
Statement of responsibility
by Hannah Palmer
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the months leading up to the birth of her first child, Hannah Palmer discovers that all three of her childhood houses have been wiped out by the expansion of Atlanta’s Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. Having uprooted herself from a promising career in publishing in her adopted Brooklyn), Palmer embarks on a quest to determine the fate of her lost homes—and of a community that has been erased by unchecked Southern progress. Palmer's journey takes her from the ruins of kudzu-covered, airport-owned ghost towns to carefully preserved cemeteries wedged between the runways; into awkward confrontations with airport planners, developers, and even her own parents. Along the way, Palmer becomes an amateur detective, an urban historian, and a mother. Lyrically chronicling the overlooked devastation and beauty along the airport’s fringe communities in the tradition of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Leslie Jamison, Palmer unearths the startling narratives about race, power, and place that continue to shape American cities. Part memoir, part urban history, Flight Path: A Search for Roots beneath the World's Busiest Airport is a riveting account of one young mother's attempt at making a home where there’s little home left
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1978-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Palmer, Hannah
Dewey number
  • 975.8/231043092
  • B
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
F294.A853
LC item number
P35 2017
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Palmer, Hannah
  • William B. Hartsfield-Atlanta International Airport
  • Atlanta Metropolitan Area (Ga.)
  • Atlanta Metropolitan Area (Ga.)
  • Atlanta Metropolitan Area (Ga.)
  • Atlanta Metropolitan Area (Ga.)
  • Clayton County (Ga.)
  • Fulton County (Ga.)
Target audience
general
Label
Flight path : a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport, by Hannah Palmer
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
211 pages
Isbn
9781938235283
Lccn
2016037303
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)957139400
Label
Flight path : a search for roots beneath the world's busiest airport, by Hannah Palmer
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
211 pages
Isbn
9781938235283
Lccn
2016037303
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)957139400

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...