Coverart for item
The Resource Hacking Darwin, Jamie Metzl, (electronic resource)

Hacking Darwin, Jamie Metzl, (electronic resource)

Label
Hacking Darwin
Title
Hacking Darwin
Statement of responsibility
Jamie Metzl
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." — Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Gene Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene. After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules... From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives — sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Metzl, Jamie
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ethics
  • Science
  • Nonfiction
Label
Hacking Darwin, Jamie Metzl, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781492670100
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
8FB2CFAE-D725-4E36-B696-EB2F638A76DA
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
Hacking Darwin, Jamie Metzl, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781492670100
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
8FB2CFAE-D725-4E36-B696-EB2F638A76DA
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...