Coverart for item
The Resource The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy

The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy

Label
The boat runner : a novel
Title
The boat runner
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Devin Murphy
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails
Cataloging source
TOH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Murphy, Devin
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3613.U728
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hitler-Jugend
  • Hitler-Jugend
  • Jews rescue (1939-1945 : World War)
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Brothers
  • Teenage boys
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • FICTION / Literary
  • Brothers
  • Military participation
  • Teenage boys
Label
The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062658029
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
DD0317FC-1DFF-4872-9A60-FA56756B98A8
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1002684101
  • on1002684101
  • 2963300
Label
The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy
Link
Publication
Copyright
Note
Electronic book
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062658029
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
DD0317FC-1DFF-4872-9A60-FA56756B98A8
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1002684101
  • on1002684101
  • 2963300

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...