Coverart for item
The Resource The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

Label
The weight of ink
Title
The weight of ink
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Kadish
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kadish, Rachel
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3561.A358
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women historians
  • Jewish women
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Jewish women
  • Women historians
  • Fiction
  • Historical Fiction
  • Literature
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780544866676
Lccn
2017010659
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5BAB77FA-4E69-4DB7-8196-C63995D3845B
System control number
  • (OCoLC)974796417
  • ocn974796417
  • 2558647
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780544866676
Lccn
2017010659
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
5BAB77FA-4E69-4DB7-8196-C63995D3845B
System control number
  • (OCoLC)974796417
  • ocn974796417
  • 2558647

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...