Coverart for item
The Resource Up From Freedom, Wayne Grady, (electronic resource)

Up From Freedom, Wayne Grady, (electronic resource)

Label
Up From Freedom
Title
Up From Freedom
Statement of responsibility
Wayne Grady
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development. As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never be like his father, he would never own slaves. When he moves from his father's plantation in Savannah to New Orleans, he takes with him Annie, a tiny woman with sharp eyes and a sharper tongue, who he is sure would not survive life on the plantation. She'll be much safer with him, away from his father's cruelty. And when he discovers Annie's pregnancy, already a few months along, he is all the more certain that he made the right decision. As the years pass, the divide between Moody's assumptions and Annie's reality widens ever further. Moody even comes to think of Annie as his wife and Lucas as their son. Of course, they are not. As Annie reminds him, in moments of anger, she and Moody will never be equal. She and her son are enslaved. When their "family" breaks apart in the most brutal and tragic way, and Lucas flees the only life he's ever known, Moody must ask himself whether he has become the man he never wanted to be—but is he willing to hear the answer? Stretching from the war-torn banks of the Rio Brazos in Texas to the muddy waters of Freedom, Indiana, Moody travels through a country on the brink of civil war, relentlessly searching for Lucas and slowly reconciling his past sins with his hopes for the future. When he meets Tamsey, a former slave, and her family trying to escape the reach of the Fugitive Slave Act, Moody sees an opportunity for redemption. But the world is on the cusp of momentous change, and though some things may be forgotten, nothing is ever really forgiven
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Grady, Wayne
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • African American Fiction
  • Literature
  • Historical Fiction
Label
Up From Freedom, Wayne Grady, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780385685122
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
5E2A6002-5394-4617-9019-1F6700D07FA0
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
Up From Freedom, Wayne Grady, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780385685122
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
5E2A6002-5394-4617-9019-1F6700D07FA0
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...