Coverart for item
The Resource White houses : a novel, Amy Bloom

White houses : a novel, Amy Bloom

Label
White houses : a novel
Title
White houses
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Amy Bloom
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by "one of the most intriguing relationships in history"*--between Eleanor Roosevelt and "first friend" Lorena Hickok. Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, "Hick," as she's known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. She moves into the White House, where her status as "first friend" is an open secret, as are FDR's own lovers. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death. Through it all, even as Hick's bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life. From Washington, D.C. to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan's Washington Square, Amy Bloom's new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity. Advance praise for White Houses "Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away."--Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife "A novel of the secret, scandalous love of Eleanor Roosevelt and her longtime friend and companion Lorena Hickok, who relates the tale in her own, quite wonderful voice."--Joyce Carol Oates "Lorena Hickok is a woman who found love with another lost soul, Eleanor Roosevelt. And love is what this book is all about: It suffuses every page, so that by the time you reach the end, you are simply stunned by the beauty of the world these two carved out for themselves."--Melanie Benjamin, author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue*
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1953-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bloom, Amy
Dewey number
813/.54
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3552.L6378
LC item number
W48 2018ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Tonya Cornelisse
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Cornelisse, Tonya
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor
  • Hickok, Lorena A.
  • Hickok, Lorena A
  • Roosevelt, Eleanor
  • Presidents' spouses
  • Women journalists
  • Presidents' spouses
  • Women journalists
  • FICTION / Historical / General
  • Fiction
  • Historical Fiction
  • Literature
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
White houses : a novel, Amy Bloom
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (6 hr., 44 min., 27 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525630463
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
14A9E355-5842-4496-8364-8E5BE5C53C9F
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1023431534
  • on1023431534
  • 2956429
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
White houses : a novel, Amy Bloom
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (6 hr., 44 min., 27 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525630463
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
14A9E355-5842-4496-8364-8E5BE5C53C9F
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1023431534
  • on1023431534
  • 2956429
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Northwest LibraryBorrow it
    2280 Hard Rd, Columbus, OH, 43235, US
    40.118513 -83.076143
  • Old Worthington LibraryBorrow it
    820 High St, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.090609 -83.016926
  • Worthington Park LibraryBorrow it
    1389 Worthington Centre Dr, Worthington, OH, 43085, US
    40.123032 -82.980439
Processing Feedback ...